ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING - 18 MAY 2006

Leader, Deputy Leader, Cabinet, Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels and Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen - 2006/07

- * = Group Representative/Spokesperson
- (a) Leader Councillor Mrs D Collins (Conservative Group)
- **(b) Deputy Leader -** Councillor C Whitbread (Conservative Group)
- (c) Other Cabinet Members (7)

Conservative Group (6): Mrs A Grigg, A Green, S Metcalfe, Mrs M Sartin, D Stallan, Ms S-A Stavrou.

Independent Group(1): J Knapman

(d) Allocations of Portfolios

Leader's Portfolio – Mrs D Collins
Customer Services, Media, Communications and ICT – S Metcalfe
Community Wellbeing – Ms S-A Stavrou
Finance, Performance Management and Corporate Support Services – J Knapman
Civil Engineering and Maintenance – A Green
Housing – D Stallan
Leisure and Young People – C Whitbread
Planning and Economic Development - Mrs A Grigg
Environmental Protection – Mrs M Sartin

(e) Cabinet Committee Memberships (not part of pro rata allocations)

(i) Finance and Performance Management Cabinet Committee

Finance, Performance Management and Corporate Support Services Portfolio Holder (Chairman)

Leader

Customer Services, Media, Communications and ICT Portfolio Holder Leisure and Young People Portfolio Holder Planning and Economic Development Portfolio Holder

(ii) North Weald Airfield Strategy Cabinet Committee

Planning and Economic Development Portfolio Holder (Chairman) Leader

Environmental Protection Portfolio Holder

Finance, Performance Management and Corporate Support Services Portfolio Holder Leisure and Young People Portfolio Holder

(f) Committees, Sub-Committees and Panels - Memberships

(i) Licensing Committee (15 members)

Conservative Group (8): M Cohen (Chairman), R D'Souza, Mrs R Gadsby, Mrs M McEwen, P McMillan, Mrs S Perry, Mrs P Smith (Vice-Chairman), J Wyatt

Independent Group (1): R Morgan

Liberal Democrats Group (4): Mrs P Brooks, Mrs P K Rush, K Wright plus 1 tba

LRA Group (2): P House, Mrs C Pond

(ii) Housing Appeals and Review Panel (5 members and 5 substitutes)

Conservative Group (3): Mrs R Gadsby (Vice-Chairman), Mrs P Smith, J Wyatt (Substitutes – Mrs A Cooper, J Demetriou, Mrs J Lea)

Liberal Democrats Group (1): Mrs P K Rush (Chairman) (Substitute – K Wright)

BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richardson (Substitute – T Farr)

(iii) Staff Appeals Panel (5 members and 5 substitutes)

Conservative Group (1): Mrs H Harding (Substitute – tba)

Liberal Democrats Group (1): K Wright (Substitute - tba)

LRA Group (1): P House (Chairman) (Substitute – tba)

BNP Group (1): T Farr (Vice-Chairman) (Substitute – Mrs P Richardson)

Labour (1): P Gode

(iv) Complaints Panel (Pool of 11 members)

Conservative Group (5): R Church, M Cohen, Mrs A Cooper, B Sandler (Vice-Chairman), Mrs P Smith

Independent Group (1): Mrs D Borton

Liberal Democrats Group (2): Mrs P Brooks, K Wright

LRA Group (1): K Angold-Stephens

BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richardson (Chairman)

Independent Member (1): Councillor S Murray

(v) District Development Control Committee (15 members)

Conservative Group (8): M Colling, Mrs R Gadsby, Mrs H Harding, J Hart, P McMillan, B Sandler (Chairman), Mrs P Smith, Mrs L Wagland (Group representative tba)

Independent Group (1): Mrs D Borton*

Liberal Democrats Group (3): D Kelly, G Stollar (Vice-Chairman), K Wright*

LRA Group (1): J Markham*

BNP Group (2): Mrs P Richardson, P Turpin (Group representative tba)

(vi) Overview and Scrutiny Committee (11 members)

Conservative Group (6): D Bateman, M Cohen, M Colling, R D'Souza, Mrs H Harding, G Mohindra

Independent Group (1): R Morgan (Chairman)

Liberal Democrats Group (2): Mrs J H Whitehouse (Vice-Chairman), M Woollard

LRA Group (1): P House

BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richarson

(vii) Joint Consultative Committee (9 members plus 9 staff side representatives)

Conservative Group (4): M Colling, Mrs D Collins, S Metcalfe, C Whitbread

Independent Group (1): J Knapman (Chairman or Vice-Chairman)

Liberal Democrats Group (2): Mrs P Brooks, R Goold

LRA Group (1): P House

BNP Group (1): tba

(viii) Area Plans Sub-Committee 'A' (15 members)

Conservative Group (4): R Church, J Hart (Chairman), B Sandler, Mrs L Wagland (Group representative tba)

Independent Group (1): J Knapman*

Liberal Democrats Group (3): Mrs A Haigh, P Spencer, G Stollar (Group representative tba)

LRA Group (3): K Angold-Stephens (Vice-Chairman), A Lee, J Markham (Group representative tba)

BNP Group (4): Ms S Clapp, R Law, Mrs P Richardson, P Turpin (Group representative tba)

(ix) Area Plans Sub-Committee 'B' (11 members - all local ward members)

Conservative Group (7): M Colling (Chairman), A Green, Mrs A Grigg, S Metcalfe, Mrs S Perry (Vice-Chairman), D Stallan, C Whitbread (Group representative tba)

Liberal Democrats Group (4): R Frankel, Mrs K Rush, Mrs J H Whitehouse, J M Whitehouse (Group representative tba)

(x) Area Plans Sub-Committee 'C' (8 members - all local ward members)

Conservative Group (3): Mrs D Collins, Mrs H Harding, Mrs M McEwen (Vice-Chairman) (Group representative tba)

Independent Group (1): R Morgan*

Labour (1): P Gode*

Liberal Democrats Group (3): D Jacobs, D Kelly, K Wright* Chairman)

(xi) Area Plans Sub-Committee 'D' (14 members - all local ward members)

Conservative Group (12): Mrs A Cooper, J Demetriou, R D'Souza, Mrs R Gadsby, R Haines, Mrs J Lea, , P McMillan (Chairman), Mrs M Sartin, Mrs P Smith, D Spinks, Ms S-A Stavrou, J Wyatt (Group representative tba)

Independent Group (1): Mrs D Borton*(Vice-Chairman)

Liberal Democrats Group (1): Mrs P Brooks*

(xii) Ad Hoc Panel on the Top Management Structure

Conservative Group (2): Mrs D Collins, C Whitbread

Independent Group (1): J Knapman

Liberal Democrats Group (1): tba

LRA Group (1): P House

BNP Group (1): Mrs P Richardson

(xiii) Leisure Management - Contract Monitoring Board (5 cross party members including Leisure and Young People Portfolio Holder)

Conservative Group: C Whitbread Independent Group: R Morgan

Liberal Democrats Group: J M Whitehouse

LRA Group: A Lee BNP Group: tba

(xiv) West Essex Waste Management Joint Committee

Conservative Group (1): S Metcalfe

(substitute – Mrs M Sartin)